top of page

Benefits of Music Education

Attached is a wonderful list article about the benefits of music education! I highly recommend reading it, as it provides a quick glimpse into the wonderful advantages of a music education.

Music Education has benefited myself in various ways. I have found a great hobby that allows me to grow as a person. I've learned a new skill that challenges my analytical and creative mind. The analysis aspect of it is critical to a performance: I must analyze the rhythm and pitch, the sound of the music, how it can be played. These skills can go on to support critical and creative thinking skills, I know that I have been able to easily analyze a situation because of my background in music.

It is the challenge to the creative mind, however, that I believe to have a higher benefit. Playing music requires the student to understand the possible themes and ideas that are being transferred through the music. Vilvidi's "Winter" violin concerto, first movement, for example, is about the frigidness of winter, and how the chill soaks into the bones of someone walking through winter. This in turn nurtures the ability for the student to be creative, a skill that is necessary in our modern world.

This small experience of mine is just one small benefit of music education, there are countless more. The article does outline the most general benefits, but I also encourage you to find others.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

2/27/17–Carry The Tune showing at Silver Creek High School

​

3/6/17–Bringing Music to Life benefit concert at Silver Creek High School

​

5/11/17–Evening of Excellence at Silver Creek High School

Follow Ignite The Spark
  • Twitter B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page